Introduction To Contesting

Despite the sub-zero temperatures the members of the Oakville Amateur Radio Club were treated to a red hot presentation on Contesting by our own world-class contester Dennis, VE3JAQ.

Dennis has won his category in some of the big international contests and trust me, as a long-time contester myself, Dennis taught me a thing or two about improving my contesting abilities.

Here’s a link to a PDF of Dennis’s talk. So you wanna try contesting

After Dennis’s presentation I offered a quick overview of contesting quality software and hardware.

Here’s a link to a PDF of my talk. Contesting Resources

Coincidentally the ARRL Contest Update newsletter has links to several other contest-related PDFs that I think you’ll find worthwhile:

Adding an SDR to an SO2R Station  Adding an SDR to an SO2R Station – Google Slides

N6TV_Dayton_2012_Using_the_RBN N6TV_Dayton_2012_Using_the_RBN

N6TV_Dayton_2013_Using_the_RBN N6TV_Dayton_2013_Using_the_RBN

N6TV_Dayton_2014_CW_Skimmer N6TV_Dayton_2014_Using_Waterfall_Displays

N6TV_Dayton_2014_Using_Waterfall N6TV_Dayton_2014_Using_Waterfall_Displays

N6TV_Visalia_Waterfall_Displays N6TV_Visalia_Waterfall_Displays

(This post also appears on the VE3HG blog.)

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

