Field Day 2014 Results

We came in fourth or maybe third in all Canada in our category of 2A out of 393 entries.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo why fourth or maybe third?OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the QST listings VE7SAR and VA7SAR were two above above us with both having identical scores.

That seems wrong to my eye and if so, we came third in Canada and 38th overall.

We actually scored more QSOs (1597) but lost on points (6,1o8).

The VE7 scores were 1541 Qs but they got more points 6,256.

The winning Canadian team VE1FO scored 1997 Qs and 7,218 points.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo what can we do better in 2014?

First off we’ve got to do a better job at getting the bonus points up. That was my job last year and I could have done a better job.

Can we win first in Canada?We’d need to work 400 more Qs and score 1,110 more points.

I’m not sure that’s doable but we sure could take second place in Canada with a measly 156 more Qs and 148 more points.

So maybe in March we can have our first organizing meeting for our 2015 effort.

We’ll follow that up with a final review during our May meeting and maybe we could take a shot at second place in Canada (and somewhere around top 25 overall in our 2A category.

It’s going to be up to the club members about which category we enter. 2A and 3A are the two most competitive categories and really, aside from my merger effort, we did pretty well.

Thanks to all 21 operators who registered to get on the air and have some fun. And fun is the key ingredient to a great Field Day.

About Peter West

I am retired. I'm invested into bike riding, guitar playing, yoga and Ham Radio. I am a former photojournalist, newspaper and magazine editor and public relations practitioner with national, regional and local experience. A long-time member of Toastmasters International and an active Amateur Radio (Ham) operator here in Canada I am taking on new challenges.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Field Day 2014 Results

  1. applebymaintenance says:

    I think we should get points for the pretty girl behind radio! Well done!

    Personally, I use the score card more like my golf score card. We should be competing with ourselves from year to year and looking for growth. Now don’t get me wrong I love local competition, but just wanted to say the real marker is internal. I give the club a score of 21!

    So all that being said, what is the challenge for 2015? Same place? Same people? Same rigs antennas? Same …. you see where I’m going.

    Time for a meeting of the new thinking minds to shake it up and look for challenges and the great unknown. Are there 5 or more people who are looking to take a leading role to brainstorm and draw a new line in the sand?

    Go-to-Meeting would be a good start to invite people to the conversation. (early 2015 of course)

    MIke VE3QSK

    • Peter West says:

      Mike I think we’re past the growth stage if we can get the “A” team of contesters on CW and SSB or digital. We can take top score in Canada scattering our competition before us and crushing those who stand in our way making run home to their mothers…..or not 🙂

      I’m all for an all-battery, all-QRP CW only or CW – SSB effort as I think most guys would be astounded how well we’d do.

      The other setup I’d love to try is an all Flexradio setup. A few clubs tried that last year with again outstanding results especially when it came to operating stations in close proximity.

      Having said it’s going to be up to the majority and if they want to run a causal non-contest Field Day I’m all for that too and I’ll be there.

Leave a Reply

